Leave a comment

Picture This

Every picture tells a story.

My uncle emailed this picture of me and my cousin the other day. It tells a different story to me than it does to him. I’m sure the story that comes to my cousin’s mind is different still. I won’t tell you what any of these stories are, because I don’t want them to intrude on whatever story pops into your head.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words, and give or take a few, I suspect they are right. So for today’s inspiration, let’s work from visual aids.

Take any picture — it could be the one in this post, or one from your own family albums, or any picture you find that holds inspiration for you, and write the story behind it. You decide what type of writing you want to do. Maybe a personal essay about a moment captured in your history, or a fictional tale based on the people or actions that you see. Let the picture be your guide.

Don’t have a picture of your own to use? Check out the 2009 World in Focus winners from National Geographic Traveler.

Leave a Reply

