1 Comment

Flash! For Writers of Quick Reads

Ah, what Twitter has done for me… Okay. Not really. I still don’t get what all the fuss is about. It’s like instant messaging the world. And trust me, I’ve read most of my instant messages. The world is not ready.

The one thing that Twitter has done is make me consider every character of every word. So, if I count new practice in tight writing, I guess Twitter has some perks. Plus, there’s something about having to condense what I want to say in 140 characters or less that inspires me to reacquaint myself with flash fiction. I haven’t written any in years, but I used to participate regularly in a flash fiction workshop. I seem to recall it was fun.

So, today, before I jaunt off into the land of book deadlines (tomorrow!  EEK!) I’ll pass along some flash fiction resources I’m checking out for when my schedule frees up a bit.

Market: Nanoism ($1.50 per accepted story. 140 characters or less) Prefers literary.

Market: Thaumatrope ($1.50 per accepted story. 140 characters or less) Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror

Resource: Full of prompts, exercises, and examples: Flashfiction.net.

One real story offers market info, prompts, reviews and more.

The Absolute Write Forums have a section with a weekly flash challenge. Click on “Flash Fiction Challenge” and enter the secret handshake password:  “flashed”.  If you aren’t already a member, you’ll have to register (free) before you can participate.

Have fun, just do it in 500 words or less. 😉

One comment on “Flash! For Writers of Quick Reads

  1. […] It may not be the best piece of flash fiction I ever wrote, but it definitely found the oddest home. It’s the only time I can claim receiving a check along with labels in lieu of contributor copies. (I also garnered a lovely can of coffee with my story on it, which I gave to my somewhat befuddled father for Christmas.) Sadly, Storyhouse Coffee no longer exists, but while they did, they published flash fiction on every label of every can. (You can read my post on other flash fiction markets here.) […]

Leave a Reply

