Leave a comment

Weekend Assignment: To Whom It May Concern

Dear Fellow Writers,

It’s that time again. Time for a rousing game of Brain, Brain, Who’s Got the Brain?

No.

Wait.

That’s not it.

*Consults calendar*

Right. Time for a new assignment. I’m a little late posting this because sinus zombies from outer space ate my brain. I think it happened over the holiday weekend. I am waiting to see if the brain will spontaneously regenerate, but so far, nada.

It’s hard to take care of business without a brain. I’ve had to carry on, though. Too many deadlines keep piling up whether I have a brain or not. The December newsletter gig is sitting on my desk awaiting magic edits, and the rough draft of the book I’m under contract to write is due on the 24th. I only hope that in my brainless state I haven’t written anything too embarrassing. I’m almost afraid to look for fear of finding that I’ve become fluent in Zombie and have begun filling my manuscripts with such helpful tidbits as “Lurrrg!…LURRRG!!  Mrrrrr!!! Mmurmzit!!”  The exclamation points alone would be enough to cause death by humiliation.

When I haven’t been plugging words into one project or another, I’ve been reading. I’m in the midst of a YA binge and just finished Holly Black‘s White Cat. This latest book kept me entertained and it was a quick read, but Tithe is still my favorite title by Black. Once I finished White Cat, I immediately began to read The Year of Secret Assignments by Jaclyn Moriarty. I’d never heard of this book, and chose it on a whim, mainly because it is an epistolary tale — one told in letters written by the characters. I fell in love with this form while reading Last Days of Summer by Steve Kluger. His tale remains at the top of my recommended books list.

What I’m hinting at here in my brainless state is that I like books told through letters. Duh. Did you get that out of my rambling? Yes, I know. A brain transplant and three weeks of bed rest are on my calendar for some time in November. Until then, we’ll just have to muddle through, okay?

This weekend’s assignment is to write a letter or letters.

SURPRISE!

Just pretend that you didn’t see that coming, okay?

The nice thing about a letter is it has a certain form — a structure. It has a greeting, a body, and a closing. Beyond that, the possibilities for a letter are nearly endless. Experiment. Write a letter to an editor, write a thank you note to an object you can’t live without, let your characters write emails to each other, write an essay about an event from your life in the form of a letter to yourself… Just write.

As always, if you want to join the Weekend Assignment Show and Tell Challenge, post your letter on your blog then add a link to your post in the comments here.

Sincerely yours,

Barb

Leave a Reply

