4 Comments

NaNoWriWHAT?

nanowrimo_05_120x240

 

NaNoWriMo 2010 approaches and, for the first time ever, I am signed up for it. I blame Hyde. I figure I might as well, since I believe most of my writing posse is going to blame ME. Pass the buck is the name of the game here.

For those of you not in the know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month (affectionately referred to as NaNo, in some circles). It’s a competition of sorts that takes place every November. During the month, participants attempt to write a 50,000 word novel over the course of 30 days. “Winners” earn bragging rights and often have completed a hefty portion of a novel (if not an entire one) in rough draft form.

I’ve encountered and encouraged NaNo Rebels as well. Instead of a novel, these folks sign up to write 50,000 words of some other breed. Like a collection of essays, or a thesis, for example.

Now I’m going to encourage challenge you, readers. Take the plunge. Head over to the web site, sign up and join the insanity. Look at is as a way to:

  • Start a project you’ve always dreamed of tackling.
  • Hone your ability to turn off the inner editor and just write.
  • Show yourself how much time you can find for writing, if you put your mind to it.

And if you are like my writing group:

  • Throw down some wicked wagers with other writers and make them send you cool stuff when they lose.

In case you are wondering, yes, I have checked the date. Yes, I am aware that November is still a couple of weeks away. So, why, you might ask, am I posting about NaNo now? Because, while you aren’t supposed to start writing until November 1st, there is no rule that prohibits you from planning in advance. I’m already hard at work plotting the novel I plan to write. Well, hard at work thinking about plotting it. Okay, okay, I’ve named my main character and know where the story opens. The plot will come.

How about you? Are you in this year? If you are, come find me. My user name is batyler65.

 

4 comments on “NaNoWriWHAT?

  1. *sigh* Okay, 0kay, I’ll do it. Quit bullying me. I swear, between you and Bristol you’re laying on so much pressure that I’m six inches shorter than I was yesterday.

  2. I’m registered as Haggis_Chihuahua.

    How the heck do you buddy someone?

    • Log in, then click “search” in the top menu (right side). When the search screen comes up, select the “author” tab, then type in batyler65 for me and search. Scroll down to the bottom to see the search results. Click on me. You’ll go to my profile screen. On the left side there is an “add buddy” button. Click and confirm. Voila!

Leave a Reply

