Leave a comment

December 2010 Writing Sparks

Welcome to the beginning of another month of writing possibilities. I just finished National Novel Writing Month and generated 50,000 words of what I like to refer to as “afflicted fiction.”  The first part is decent. The middle part developed a hunched back and a squint. By the time I got to the last 10k, a mass of wild and waving tentacles appeared and sucked the whole project into the abyss. Is it salvageable? Only time will tell.

Now it’s time for new inspiration and projects. I hope you find something in these ideas that sparks your creativity and gets you writing during this hectic holiday month.

* Snowflakes have already been fluttering through the air where I am today, so it only seems fitting that one of the December sparks should involve snow.  I love starting with a basic idea and brainstorming a multitude of ways to use  it. Calvin and Hobbes creator Bill Watterson started did this with a snowman.  What can you do with a snowman?

* December is a month of holidays big and small. Check out the list here at HolidayInsights.com for a springboard of holiday writing ideas.

*The New Yorker website runs a weekly contest that challenges folks to write a caption for a cartoon.  Or, you can take it a step further and write an entire story based on the characters you see.

*Top ten for 2010 — How about writing a top ten list to celebrate the end of the year? You can find inspiration at toptenz.net

*I created this ink-blot style picture over at http://www.andyfoulds.co.uk Before you remark on my artistic prowess, I should point out that I wasn’t actually drawing with anything in mind. This is more like the scribble-doodles that often appear on my notepads when I am thinking. This type of drawing always reminds me of hunting for pictures in the clouds. Look for a story to go along with the image you see. Is there a martial arts tournament in there? Competitive skiers? Or maybe just the face of a clown? Try your hand at a scribble-doodle, then let your imagination guide you to the story inside it.

Pen_and_ink

 

 

Leave a Reply

