6 Comments

Writing Spaces

I think a writer’s workspace is like a fingerprint. Sure, we all have similar ridges and whorls, but in the end, your space is as individual as you are. For example, I’ll bet that, like my space, yours contains a book or two (or a gazillion). You probably have a calendar and a phone, even if it’s a cell that travels with you from place to place. On the other hand, I doubt you have a tiny plastic cow or a handmade pose-able figure of one of your children perched on a shelf. (Who knows? Maybe you do.)

I’m always fascinated to see the places where other writers craft their words. Apparently, I am not alone. Jill Krementz created a coffee table book on the subject. The Guardian did a whole series on the rooms of famous writers and Poets & Writers invited readers to submit photos of their writing spaces.

What’s in your writing space that makes it unique to you? I’d love to hear about it in the comments. Or, even better, post a picture of your space (or something unusual in it) on your blog and link to it here in the comments.

6 comments on “Writing Spaces

  1. A picture? Really? Um… Okay. Give me a day or two.

  2. I don’t have a plastic figurine one of my children made me, but I have a ceramic giraffe that looks curiously like ET my youngest made me! I also have a picture of my grandmother on the wall as well as an encouraging note from Cheryl Rainfield. To top it off is an old, tiny television and a VCR (Yep VCR) so I can play videos of my kids when they were babies. Really helps me pull out of a slump. My main work place, however, is in my living room chair surrounded by my kids and lots of noise! I am insane huh?

    • Not so insane. When I first started writing full time, my office was meant to be the dining room of the house where I was living. It was also in the center of the house. Kids, dog, husband, in and out all the time. When I had deadlines, I spent a lot of time with headphones on and music blasting. I credit that first “office” space with teaching me to write anywhere under any circumstances.

  3. I tend to write much better with a lot of noise around. When I isolate myself I am afraid I am missing out on fun and I wonder what they are up to. Not to mention the guilt factor. My kids are great about leaving me alone wherever I write, so I feel very blessed. And the best part of working in the living room is all the free hugs! Sometimes my daughter even brings me a coke or cup of coffee. Yep, blessed indeed.

    • I hear you. I’ve adapted to a quieter environment. Now it’s the shift in routine that throws me. Spring break, spousal vacation, those things disrupt my work far more than noise does.

Leave a Reply

