Leave a comment

Odd Jobs: Writing for unusual markets

Over the past week, I’ve been working on creating digital versions of my favorite clips from days gone by. It always amazes me, when I flip back through my binder of clips, to see how much my writing has changed over the years. It’s definitely entertaining.

One clip I scanned is on a coffee can label. Yes. You read it right. A coffee can label:

It may not be the best piece of flash fiction I ever wrote, but it definitely found the oddest home. It’s the only time I can claim receiving a check along with labels in lieu of contributor copies. (I also garnered a lovely can of coffee with my story on it, which I gave to my somewhat befuddled father for Christmas.) Sadly, Storyhouse Coffee no longer exists, but while they did, they published flash fiction on every label of every can. (You can read my post on other flash fiction markets here.)

How about you? What unusual writing opportunities have you stumbled across or heard about from other writers? I’d love to hear about them in the comments.

A photo of a cup of coffee.

Image via Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

