2 Comments

Weekend Assignment: Writing Resolution 2012

Grape-Shot: 1915 English magazine illustration...

Image via Wikipedia

Every year I try to set a new writing goal for myself. It might be to try a new market. Maybe I’ll enter a contest, or write something in a new form or start a blog, or join Twitter… there’s always something new to try.

This year, when I stopped to consider my writing resolution, I discovered a hole in the pocket where I normally keep my good ideas. Fortunately, I have a bad habit of using StumbleUpon when my muse goes walkabout without me and I ran across a tidbit about Jim Henson’s Red Book. Being an avid fan of Henson’s life and work, I settled in to read. It seems that in 1965, Henson decided to start a journal of single line entries about his activities. These hit and miss entries document more than two decades of his life. This, I decided would be my writing resolution for 2012; to keep a journal inside the spiral-bound calendar on my desk. A single sentence each day to document my highs and lows, the feasts and famines. Starting on Sunday, that’s what I intend to do.

Your assignment this weekend? Invent your own writing resolution. What will you do this year to push yourself forward? Come tell me all about it in the comments.

Happy New Year to us all!

A glass of champagne

Image via Wikipedia

2 comments on “Weekend Assignment: Writing Resolution 2012

  1. […] Weekend Assignment: Writing Resolution 2012 (barbaratyler.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Funny. I was going to resume my journaling this year, too.

Leave a Reply

