4 Comments

Spell Check on Aisle Five

When you write, do you give readers the sense you are dependable and trustworthy? In this age of social media, the question is more important than ever. Any mistake you make can reach a wide audience in the time it takes to click “update status.”

I offer this case in point. I was scrolling through my facebook feed when I ran across this headline from the local TV news outlet: “Laundry Detergeant Thefts, the New ‘Grime Wave’ “

Every word processing program I currently use underlines “detergeant” with a squiggly red line, telling me the word is misspelled. I understand folks get in a hurry. Deadlines must be met. Quality sometimes suffers. Nobody is perfect. I make mistakes just like everyone else. But really? The squiggly red line didn’t give the writer pause? Okay. Sorry. Rant over.

The point I wanted to make is this. I did not read the story. Instead, I ground my teeth and wrote this blog post. In this instance, the integrity of the article is probably sound. But if this had been a serious article, I would have wondered what other errors were missed.

Remember, like sunscreen, spell check is your friend. Apply liberally.

4 comments on “Spell Check on Aisle Five

  1. I agree completely. I can’t tell you how often I see errors and want to use the dreaded red pen. 😛

  2. […] Spell Check on Aisle Five (barbaratyler.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Spell Check on Aisle Five (barbaratyler.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

