2 Comments

Weekend Assignment: Online Presence

Hello Weekenders!
This week I read an interesting older post on Writer Unboxed by Chuck Sambuchino. In it, Sambuchino laments the difficulty in finding contact information for writers he’d like to promote:

“I cannot tell you how many times I’ve wanted to help someone or promote a book or interview an author only to find no e-mail address anywhere online. For example, at least a dozen times, I’ve found a great debut author online whose book I wanted to include in my recurring Writer’s Digestmagazine column (“Breaking In”) only to find … no e-mail. No Twitter. No contact information. Plenty of times no website at all.”

As much as it pains me to admit this, for years I was one of those writers. I came to writing old school, in the age of the SASE and the electric typewriter. Now, I have multiple blogs, a twitter account, an online portfolio, and so on.

Fortunately, if you haven’t already set up housekeeping on the web, the rest of the article offers some solid tips on what you should do. Which brings me to this week’s assignment.

This weekend, take a look at how difficult you are to track down online. Google your name and see what comes up. If you don’t already have an online presence somewhere, create one. As Sambuchino says, even a simple landing page with contact information is better than nothing. You never know who might be trying to reach you.

Happy writing!

2 comments on “Weekend Assignment: Online Presence

Leave a Reply

