Leave a comment

Freelance Fortune & Misfortune

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve had some fantastic opportunities come my way. One big one came when a long term client asked me to take over an ongoing project. Needless to say, I was thrilled. At the end of the phone conversation, the client made a request: “Please don’t post this on facebook or twitter. Your good fortune is the misfortune of another writer, and I haven’t called them yet. Friends of friends, and all that, you know.”

It wasn’t the social media aspect of her request that gave me pause. Instead, I focused on the other aspect. My good fortune was someone else’s misfortune. While I gained new work, someone out there lost a steady paycheck. It reminded me of something I think bears repeating to you, especially if you want to make a go of freelancing full time. Nobody is irreplaceable and full time gigs are good things to keep. To that end, remember it’s your job to keep the client happy. Show up, do what’s expected of you, and be pleasant to work with. Those are the big three. You can find more tips in Annette Kiesow’s nice post How to Keep Your (Freelance) Clients Happy at Work It Mom

Do you have any tips for keeping clients happy?

Leave a Reply

