3 Comments

Grammarphobia

Grammar (good, bad, and sometimes ugly) is part and parcel of this whole writing gig. Some rules are hard and fast. Others seem to flex and bend like Salvador Dali timepieces. A few good examples of grammar rules that have lost their rigidity over time can be found in a page titled: “Language Myths” on this month’s discovery: Grammarphobia.

This site by authors Patricia T. O’Conner and Stewart Kellerman is more than the roosting place for their books (Woe Is I,  Origins of the Specious, and Words Fail Me). It’s a place my inner word nerd can go to sit in a comfy chair, prop up her feet, and soak up the wordy atmosphere.  This week alone, I’ve learned interesting tidbits about “clue” vs. “clew,” why spelling contests are called “bees,” and when to use “enough” instead of “enough of.”

Take a wander through the site, and when you finish, check out the LINKS tab for more language and grammar sites. I haven’t had a chance to visit them all, but it’s on my to-do list.

What sites attract your inner word nerd? I’d love to hear about them in the comments.

3 comments on “Grammarphobia

  1. Love it! But I am not sure I should thank you for introducing me to a new web obsession!

  2. Thank me, blame me… it’s all good in the end. 😉

  3. Those that cannot apply for this kind of card or that would prefer a different solution could consider a
    prepaid card that comes with a credit building element as an alternative.
    Rather, they’re designed to help spark possibilities in your own mind. You wont get a true imitation of your signature with this Android app, unless you can cleverly manipulate the mechanics behind its operation, but that is highly unlikely.

Leave a comment