Leave a comment

Weekend Assignment: The Name Game

Weekend assignment pinterestHiya writers!

We haven’t had one of these in awhile, and it seemed like high time to toss one out. (Well, that and the fact that I actually have time to eke out a couple of smallish posts.)

This weekend assignment comes almost directly from Facebook. For the past week or so, I’ve been seeing these little acrostics in my feed with the title: What Does Your Name Mean? Basically, you tell it your name and some little gremlinbot attaches an adjective that begins with each letter. So, let’s say your name is Binky. You might get:

Brave
Intuitive
Nice
Kind
Young

All of these acrostics started me thinking. What if I decided to use acrostics to generate characteristics for my fictional characters? Of course, I would have to generate the attributes myself since the online one assigns only positive traits. I like my characters a little more well-rounded than that. Ken might be kind, energetic, and naive. Pam, it turns out, could be patronizing, antagonistic, and just plain mean.

For this weekend’s assignment, experiment with acrostics for your characters’ names. You might uncover some interesting hidden characteristics that can add dimension to your fiction.

Until next time, keep writing!

Leave a Reply

